Changing Lanes on the Road Called “Life”

Did a traumatic experience transform your life for the better?

Have you suffered from the pain of an illness, divorce, loss of a job or loved one — but came out of the experience stronger, wiser, and more in touch with your purpose and passion in life?

Did you feel as though your life was at rock bottom but now you have risen from the ashes a much stronger person from that experience?

For me, it was prison. I live in a small rural town , and after having  my ex husband arrested for beating on me, I found myself uneducated, and unemployed   I turned to dealing meth to feed my child and pay my bills. It was extremely lucrative,  and for two years I “wanted for nothing”. I tried several times to quit dealing… to get a “real job”, but I couldn’t survive on the little income that gave me. Eventually, I was arrested, and served two years in prison. I lost my son, my home… everything. When I got out, I had NOTHING, even having to wear my prison clothes home, and to the bank to cash the $100 check they give you upon release. It changed my life. I remember laying in that cold, hard bunk thinking it would have been better to live with a blanket on a sandbar than to be there. I got out, took the first job I could get, applied to college, and set a different path.

It took me two years to get my son back, and I’m a senior in college now. I have a wall full of academic awards and news articles… among them… my arrest and conviction clippings.  I’ve talked to churches,  a criminology class, and to other groups about  where I had been, and how far I’ve come, and how people CAN change. I’m stronger, more confident, and have more faith than I ever thought imaginable.

My passion? Helping people be MORE than they (or others) think they can be.  People CAN change their lives. There IS a way out, and allow ANYONE to make them feel they are less than incredible.  They just have to believe, and sometimes that starts with someone else believing in THEM. I remind them that while no one ever said it would be easy, I can tell them, it is worth it.

6 Responses to Changing Lanes on the Road Called “Life”

  1. PacketRat says:

    Wow.. I’m impressed with your determination and strength of change. *hugs*

  2. Rene' says:

    Intense and honest. I’m impressed. I can see where a lot of your opinions are based and why you are so strong. I myself spent time in jail for very stupid reasons. It changed my life and gave me a vision I would not have had otherwise. I am very pleased that you have the gift of hind-sight motivating your growth. If there’s ever anything I can do to help don’t hesitate to ask. Good luck. R

  3. d3bruts1d says:

    Wow. This is a great post. Yes, anyone can change, often it is not easy, but it can happen. I’m proud of you for what you have become, and glad to know you.

  4. LizaJne says:

    Very impressed. I can only imagine how hard it has been for you to come to terms with what you’ve done in the past, let alone talk about it. I’m very glad to know you and call you a friend.

  5. Paul Gardner says:

    Thought I’d reply to your plurk here so I could write more…

    My experience is that people (followers?) are attracted more by honesty and open-ness, not driven away by it. If, indeed, you do lose some, then quite simply they were ones you didn’t want in the beginning.

    For what it’s worth, I’m proud of you and incredibly inspired by you. It’s a pity you’re not going to be visiting New Zealand soon (or are you??) because I’d organise for you to talk at our church too (My wife and I pastor the local Salvation Army church).

    Keep on trucking.
    God bless
    Paul (your plurk buddy)

  6. topsurf says:

    Fanfreakingtastic, I am very impressed by you and your honesty and your commitment to change your life. I am truly speechless & also very proud to call you my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

