Just Another Day…

Because I’m planning a 1,900 mile excursion at the end of the month, there a quite a few things I need to get done around the house, to ensure everything is safe and secure until my return. This included re-roofing my  storage building, the shingles of which had melted due to a horrific fire that destroyed a rice mill behind my home.  Later, high winds removed a few  shingles as well, and of course it had developed a few leaks, one of which had the downpour of a spigot.

Melted Roof

So I get some “roll roofing” which of course is super easy to use.  I just need to rip off the old shingles, roll out the new stuff, and “viola”. Simple, right?

Shingle Ripping

Of course, I can’t do anything without injuring myself, and this was done when I hit my knee cap full force with the claw end of the hammer when i missed the underside of the shingles I was going after.

Fun FunAfter rolling around on the roof for a bit, clutching my knee and screaming like a crazed banshee from the pain, it’s time to “get ‘er done”.   Now then, you should take note of the area of the roof, just above the ladder, and where the roll of roofing material is laying. Apparently, the shingles where the only thing holding the particle board together underneath, and when i removed the shingles…

Oops!

ouch

Yeah,  the roof collapsed, I fell through, and  landed inside the shed. I now know that an elevated plywood floor does have some “give” to it, somewhat cushioning the full body blow, and I had just barely missed landing on my cannon sized telescope.  After a bit more cussing, screaming, and all around really unladylike behavior, I got back after it, cutting out the roof and replacing the wood.

Cut

fix

But, it got done, and once again, I survived. I was just driving in the last few nails when the rain began pouring down.  Yep…. Just another day in my life….

4 Responses to Just Another Day…

  1. topsurf says:

    OMG! You were not kidding when you said you owned a nail gun! You always amaze me. I’m glad you didn’t get hurt. I can’t believe you did that by yourself. I am very proud of you. I hope you are resting today.

  2. tinyshrimp says:

    Wow! I’m glad that you didn’t seriously hurt yourself. *hugs*

  3. Cochese says:

    You are freaking fierce, has anyone told you that lately? But holy crap, I’m so glad you’re all right!

  4. Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and article is genuinely fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such content.

Leave a Reply

